Travel and Ultrasound

I am happy to be back home now after a wonderful two weeks away.  I was a little nervous about the travel- just not knowing if I would feel any differently, but everything turned out fine.  I wore my support socks and got up to stretch my legs every so often.  I also took Emergen-C which was great in helping to stay hydrated without drinking cup after cup of water.  I ended up checking my regular suitcase for the first time in a very long time (I even took only a carry-on bag to Europe to four weeks) but it was worth it to not have to try to manage lifting my suitcase in the overhead and pull it into the lovely restroom with me all the times I needed to go.  🙂

I first was in Chicago for New Manager Training for work- it ended up being  good experience and it was fun to connect and re-connect with friends and colleagues.  We were at an airport hotel, so I didn’t go into the city, but that was fine because Jared and I had just been there in July.

From there I flew to Seattle to spend a little over a week with my parents and sister.  Jared flew up as well.  I hadn’t been up there since last Christmas so it was really nice to spend time there- the Pacific Northwest is such a beautiful place.  My mom and dad had it so nice for us and we had the perfect combination of relaxation and day tripping- including Snoqualmie Falls, Poulsbo, Leavenworth, Space Needle, Ivar’s, a salmon bake, hockey game, ferry rides, picnics, bakeries, and of course….coffee (decaf for me).  I also got to see Annie’s adorable first grade classroom.  In Poulsbo, we bought our first things for the baby- I got a light blue sleeper made with bamboo and Jared picked out a book.  That’s all we’ve bought so far, but I’m sure that will change very soon.  Here’s a few pictures from the trip: 

We came home on Sunday and had a nice leisurely day- we were excited to get Tucker from the dog ranch- we sure miss that guy when we’re gone!  He was “hungover” all day yesterday and today, meaning exhausted from too much fun.  I’m sure he’ll be back to his normal self tomorrow.

Today we had our second trimester ultrasound.  It’s so neat to see how the baby is growing.  The doctor said everything was looking good and we “graduated” from the perinatologist, so we don’t have to go back there anymore.   Our little one is definitely still a boy and was moving and sucking his thumb.  He kept putting his hand in front of his face when they tried to get a picture.  A handful already.  They estimated his weight to be about 14 ounces.  I’ve been feeling more movement recently, especially in my lower abdomen, which makes sense as his head  up and feet were down.  Now we’ll just have to see when the kicks get strong enough for Jared to feel as well!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Travel and Ultrasound

  1. Annie says:

    Nice blog, Kristen! This is such a neat idea and you did a really nice job. Love the pictures. Too funny about the baby, so excited!! I can’t wait to see you next month, love you both.

Leave a Reply

