Moving sucks, but I am thankful anyway

There has been a lot going on recently, attributing to my hiatus from blogging for awhile.  The biggest thing is that we moved from Southern California to the Sacramento area.  Moving sucks, as anyone that has ever moved (which is probably everyone) can relate.  We had been discussing the move for awhile, and I thought I was ready for it.  I mean, I was terribly sad to leave our friends and family, but excited for a new adventure and great job opportunity for Jared.  Unfortunately, the move date was up in the air for so long that all of a sudden it was hurry up and move.  I think we had less than two weeks by the time we found out Jared’s actual start date.  Plus, in the middle of that was a wedding that we went up to Seattle for (yay Tom and Summer!) the weekend just prior to our move.  It was a fabulous wedding, and we are so happy we went to share the day with them and our family and friends.  The timing of the move, however, wasn’t the best. 

We were so unprepared and behind in packing that the stress level was high.  Thankfully, we have the best families who came to help us out.  My mom flew down from Seattle for about 24 hours to help us pack.  My Auntie Karen drove up from San Diego and picked up my mom.  The two of them packed up nearly our entire kitchen and dining room.  Erik and Emily came over several evenings after work and helped with wall pictures and the TVs, among other things.  My dad then flew down to help pack the truck and drive one of our cars up here.  My in-laws were able to borrow a friend’s trailer and drove it down to our house, packed up it and the truck, and then drove up here and then back home all in the same weekend.  Jared’s Uncle Jeffy drove over for the day to help unload.  Everyone really pitched in to help, and I can’t tell you how much we appreciate it.  I am so thankful to have you all in our lives.

Now that we are here, it has taken me a little while to fully accept it.  What doesn’t help is our crazy rental house that is opposite in every way from our previous home.  There are some great things like the space and the yard, but the house just hasn’t been updated and I’m having to deal with broken drawers, ants, and weird smells.  I’ll go into detail in a future post titled New House: The Good, The Bad, and the Ugly.  Also, Rylan really had a hard time adjusting, which was unexpected.  On the plus side, I really like the area, and we are having fun exploring and trying out new places.  Also, I knew I’d go crazy sitting in the house with Rylan and a bunch of boxes all day, so I found several different things to join, including a local moms playgroup, a MOPS group at a local church, and a parent education preschool  (since I was so sad to leave Horizon Hills).  While it’s hard not to compare to the things and friends we left behind, things are starting to settle in, and I am finally starting to feel the peace and feeling that we are going to be happy here.  We still have a ways to go, but I am looking forward to settling into a routine, blogging more, finally getting back to working on my website, and most importantly, making memories with my family.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Moving sucks, but I am thankful anyway

  1. Debi Perry says:

    We are so thankful to have you in our lives. God has given us the best daughter-in-law, and the most wonderful mother for our grandson. You sacrificed a lot to move up there and I thank you for doing that for Jared. You are such a beautiful person, inside and out, and I am so happy you are finding places to go out and meet new people. They will soon love you as much as we do. Looking forward to getting up there again and helping you make some more memories! 🙂

  2. Amanda says:

    So glad you’re starting to settle in. Nathan had a very hard adjustment to our move and it was just up the street 🙂 Kids like familiarity I guess!. Hope to come visit one day.

  3. MOM says:

    I just now got to read this—-was so happy we could help out, that’s what family do! Debi–what you said was just beautiful, we feel the same about Jared. I’m so eager to come see your new place, as well as you, Jared and Rylan! Soon it will feel like home, because home is where the heart is!

Leave a Reply

